top of page
Search
  • mcr2957

Week 8

This week, most of my time and effort went into fixing things after the fire. I was one of the lucky people who were able to retrieve their stuff from the building. Since I didn't have anywhere to stay, I was living on my friend's couch. Luckily, by the end of the week, Uni Hall moved people into their "new forever home". Which is the exact wording they used. My friend and I were moved into the Clarke Wing, which was an abandoned dorm on campus. The Clarke Wing is substantially smaller than Uni Hall but the rooms are a little bigger. There is no bureau, no wifi, and no electricity, but at least I am sleeping on a bed, which happens to be new. At first I was pretty skeptical about the new place because I liked Uni Hall better. However, I realized I would never have felt safe again in Uni Hall. I am also happy to be in the same dorm next to my fried. It offers some comfort. Besides, Clarke Wing has kind of grown on me. Now that I was sleeping in an actually bed in my room, I realized I had to do the papers that I had pushed off because of the fire. I spent all weekend writing papers and presentations for midterms. Definitely not my best work but at least they are done. Although my friend convinced me to go to Maggie Island one day this weekend to just rest. We ended up hiking six miles up a mountain to go to the hidden beaches. The one we thought was the most scenic also happened to be the nude beach which was kind of funny. I am definitely shooken up about the fire but at least I am getting some kind of normalcy back in my life. Also my Holiday Break Coastal trip is next week. My friends and I will visit the Gold Coast, Byron Bay, Bondi Beach, Sydney, and Melbourne. After the fire, I didn't really want to go but I already spent the money so I figured I should go. Besides it sounds like fun.


Here is a picture of Balding Beach aka the Nude Beach.



7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page